Board of Directors

Susan Knott


Susan Knott was born in Vancouver, and after a long and varied career in all levels of government (municipal, provincial and federal), she began her next career as an organization consultant specializing in event management with a focus on organizing, motivating and directing volunteers. Previously, Ms. Knott was a member of the British Columbia Board of Parole and the National Parole Board of Canada. She is active in her community, with a particular focus on non-profit organizations and is a former director of the Gastrointestinal Society of Canada. Ms. Knott attended Vancouver Community College and the Dubrulle Culinary Institute.

Raymond Protti

Vice Chair

A University of Alberta graduate with both a BA and an MA in Economics, Raymond Protti was president and CEO of the Canadian Bankers Association from 1996 to 2007. Before that he spent more than 25 years in the federal public service where his positions included deputy minister of labour, director of the Canadian Security and Intelligence Service, and deputy minister of agriculture and Agri-Food Canada. Mr Protti has served on numerous boards including those of Ryerson University, the Toronto Community Foundation, and St. Joseph’s Health Centre Foundation. Upon moving to Victoria in 2007, Mr Protti was appointed to the Board of Governors of the University of Victoria where he served for six years including two as Chair. He recently retired from chairing the Audit Committee of Transport and Infrastructure Canada. Currently, he is a member of the board of Canadian Western Bank where he serves on the Audit and Governance committees. Mr Protti is one of the first eight directors to receive the ICD.D accreditation after completion of the Directors Education Program (2003-2004) offered by the Institute of Corporate Directors in partnership with the Rotman School of Management, University of Toronto.

David B. Adams

David B. Adams is a partner at the Victoria law firm of Patterson Adams, where his preferred area of practice is commercial real estate and land development. Previously he served as a director of the Victoria chapter of the Urban Development Institute and was the president of the Union Club in Victoria. Mr Adams holds a law degree from Queen’s University.

E. Michael O'Brien

Mr. E. Michael O'Brien recently retired after a distinguished career as a senior executive of the Vancouver Airport Authority where his responsibilities included strategic planning, legal services, corporate secretary, environment, community and media relations. Previously Mr. O'Brien served as Chief of Staff to the federal ministers of health, transport and employment and immigration.

He commenced his career as a barrister, having received his Bachelor of Laws from Osgoode Hall Law School and his Bachelor of Arts from the University of Toronto. Mr. O'Brien has served as a director of the Richmond Gateway Theatre and the Richmond Chamber of Commerce. At present he serves a member of the Fraser Basin Society and is the chair of the Board of Directors of the Richmond Olympic Oval Corporation.

Anuja S. Varshney

Anuja Varshney is the executive director of the Varshney Family Charitable Foundation. Previously, she was an auditor for Deloitte & Touche Chartered Accountants and a customer service representative for Toronto Dominion (TD) Bank.

Ms. Varshney organized the Varshney Capital Corporation Charity Golf Classic, which has raised over $1 million for BC Children's Hospital Foundation, Learning Disabilities of Vancouver, Room to Read and other organizations. Active in her community, she is a member of the West Point Grey Academy Board of Directors, the honorary chair of the Heart and Stroke BC Foundation 2013 Fundraising Gala Dinner, member of the Kids Safe Golf Tournament committee, panelist for the Courage to Come Back Awards presented by Coast Mental Health and co-founder of the Vancouver Westside Indian Cultural Centre. Ms. Varshney was also the founding organizer of the Varshney Capital Corp. Annual Charity Golf Tournament, an advisory board member for the Vancouver Biennale, a gala committee member for Phoenix Academy of Learning Society (PALS), executive board member of Endeavor, panelist for BC Children's Hospital Foundation Miracle Weekend, Vancouver Chapter member of Room to Read, committee member of UNICEF, an organizer for West-Man Multicultural Society and an organizer for Canada India Friendship Association in Manitoba.

Ms. Varshney is a Chartered Professional Accountant and holds her Bachelors of Commerce (Honours) Degree from the University of Manitoba.

Peeter Wesik

Peeter Wesik is the president of Wesgroup Properties, a family business started in British Columbia more than 50 years ago. Wesgroup is a private real estate organization with a diversified portfolio spanning residential and commercial real estate.

Wesgroup has also invested in the equipment sales and service business under the brand names Williams Machinery and Westerra Equipment, with 8 branches located throughout British Columbia.

Mr. Wesik previously practiced law as a partner at Russell & DuMoulin (now Fasken Martineau DuMoulin) and is involved in numerous industry associations including the Urban Development Institute, where he served as a director and chair, and is a former trustee of the Vancouver Art Gallery.

Angela Wesley

Angela Wesley has provided services to First Nations, organizations, other governments and potential partners for the past 20 years through her consultancy, Wes-Can Advisory Services, based in Terrace. Ms Wesley is Huu-ay-aht (Nuu-chah-nulth). Her primary focus in recent years has been on the development and implementation of the Maa-Nulth First Nations Treaty which came into effect on April 1, 2011. She has completed a diploma program in real estate appraisal, a skill set she found valuable during her time with Real Estate Services and Property Administration at Public Works Canada. Ms Wesley is board chair for the Nicola Valley Institute of Technology and is the Maa-Nulth representative on the tripartite Implementation Committee for the Maa-Nulth First Nations Treaty.

You are here