The Sisters of St. Ann are a congregation of religious women founded in Vaudreuil, Quebec in 1850 by Marie Esther Blondin, now Blessed Marie Anne Blondin. On June 5, 1858, four Sisters and a laywoman arrived in Victoria to begin educating children of the colony. Their arrival coincided with the Fraser Gold Rush, necessitating a response to changing needs. They lived in a log cabin that became their first school, not only for aboriginal children but for children of the colonists as well. The school flourished, necessitating various additions and locations. In 1871 they built the first wing of what has become St. Ann’s Academy, now a National Historic Site. Throughout the years, the education and health care provided by the Sisters of St. Ann in Victoria established them as a vital and important part of the civic community. Subsequent to their arrival in Victoria, the Sisters founded schools, hospitals and a broad spectrum of programs in communities throughout BC, the Yukon, Alaska and Washington State (St. Joseph’s Province).
The Sisters of St. Ann Archives is a private archives that houses and maintains the records of the legacy of the Sisters of St. Ann in the west; their community, their institutions and their art, as well as the records of related entities.
The holdings of the Sisters of St. Ann Archives, which are deemed archival and of enduring historical value, have been deposited with the British Columbia Archives by the Sisters of St. Ann. This archives constitutes a separate and distinct body of records within the holdings of the British Columbia Archives.
To find out more or to access the Sisters of St. Ann Archives, please call or email to make an appointment.